Network Redesign Resources

Overview of the Redesign Process

In 2017, the National Transport Authority (NTA), in collaboration with Dublin Bus, other key stakeholders (including local authorities), and with assistance from Jarrett Walker and Associates (JWA), began work on reviewing the Dublin Area bus network. In July 2018 a draft BusConnects Network was published, and an intensive 12-week non-statutory public consultation was carried out. Almost 50,000 responses to this consultation were received, and based on this feedback the NTA, in conjunction with the working group, reconfigured the network in response to these submissions.

The revised BusConnects Network was completed in September 2019, and was put on public display for consideration and feedback. This second round of public consultation ran from October to December 2019 and the local area booklets and revised network report can be viewed by clicking on the links below.

The key findings from the 2019 BusConnects Network Redesign consultation process, in conjunction with the Choices Report 2017 and the 2018 BusConnects Network Redesign Consultation Report, presents the full picture of public influence on the network design (click on the links below to download the reports).

Second Round of Network Redesign Consultation - Information Booklets

Ballsbridge Area - Ballsbridge, Booterstown, Donnybrook, Merrion, Ringsend, Sandymount
Ballyfermot Area - Ballyfermot, Chapelizod, Liffey Valley, Palmerstown
Blanchardstown Area - Ballycoolin, Blanchardstown, Blanchardstown Village Carpenterstown, Castleknock, Clonee, Clonsilla, Corduff, Dunboyne, Hollystown, Mulhuddart, Ongar Village, Tyrrelstown
Cabra Area - Ashtown, Cabra, North Circular Road, Pelletstown, Stoneybatter
Celbridge Leixlip Area - Celbridge, Leixlip, Maynooth
City Centre Area - Christchurch, Dolphin’s Barn, Dublin City North, Dublin City South, East Wall, North Strand, Smithfield, South Circular Road/Portobello
Clarehall Donaghmede Area - Clarehall/Belmayne, Clongriffin, Darndale, Donaghmede
Clondalkin Area - Clondalkin, Clondalkin West
Clontarf Area - Clontarf, Donnycarney, Fairview, Harmonstown, Killester, Marino, Raheny
Crumlin Area - Bluebell, Crumlin, Drimnagh, Kimmage, Perrystown, Walkinstown
Drumcondra Area - Ballybough, Drumcondra, Glasnevin, Phibsborough, Whitehall
Dun Laoghaire Area - Ballybrack, Blackrock, Dalkey, Deansgrange, Dun Laoghaire, Glasthule, Killiney, Loughlinstown, Monkstown, Sallynoggin
Dundrum Area - Balally, Ballinteer, Belfield, Churchtown, Clonskeagh, Dundrum, Goatstown, Sandyford, Stepaside, Windy Arbour
Finglas Area - Finglas, Finglas North, The Ward
Inchicore Area - Inchicore, Kilmainham, Rialto
Lucan Area - Adamstown Castle, Lucan South East, Lucan South West, Lucan Village
Malahide Area - Clonshaugh, Kinsealy, Malahide, Portmarnock
Rathfarnham Area - Knocklyon, Rathfarnham, Templeogue, Terenure
Rathmines Area - Harold’s Cross, Milltown, Ranelagh, Rathgar, Rathmines
Saggart Area - Citywest, Fortunestown, Newcastle, Rathcoole, Saggart
Skerries Area - Balbriggan, Balrothery, Lusk, Naul, Rush, Skerries
Stillorgan Area - Cabinteely, Foxrock, Leopardstown, Mount Merrion, Stillorgan
Sutton Area - Baldoyle, Howth, Kilbarrack, Sutton
Swords Area - Swords, Dublin Airport, Donabate, Portrane
Tallaght Area - Ballymount, Firhouse, Greenhills, Jobstown, Kiltipper, Tallaght